2.26.18 what sweet power prayer brings

okay, is it just me or is each week programmed to go more faster?

So my favorite sight ever is a guy in our ward, hermano carlos. He kills me with laughter! He walks around la noria with a Book of Mormon in his hand. But just not any book of mormon — and ENGLISH book of mormon. I am having a good laugh just writing this. Whenever I am sad or discouraged or a little down, we always find hermano carlos in the street with his english book of mormon and I always feel it is a little happiness booster 🙂

I have seen how big of a blessing the power of prayer brings is in our lives. We get to communicate with our Heavenly Father! That should be our most favorite times of the day where we can feel the most joy, talking with god through prayer!

our investigador, diana (she is 24) shared with us the other day her experience with her prayer being answered. We were right in the middle of a lesson when she says, “hey! can i share my experience of prayer with you?” we stop mid sentence and say of course! share with us! she tells us that a few days before we got to her home, she was praying to have good friends and to find happiness again in her life. Since 4 years ago she passed for a real hard experience that drained her happiness. She expressed how we were the answer to her prayers. Because a couple days later, god literally lead us to her house, through her cousin that told us to visit her. God lead us to diana to answer her prayer to find new friends and happiness, which is the gospel of jesus christ! She then started to come to church constantly and tells us, “then i found even more good friends here in the church and for the first time in so long, I am smiling once again & i feel happy!”

it touched my heart, because i love that God truly does watch and care over us, but it is usually through other people he reaches our needs.

taxi selfies

It made me think of the first time when I knew without a doubt in my mind that God answers our prayers. WhenI went through the temple to recieve my endowments, i was back at college at BYU-i and I had such a strong feeling to go to the temple, but I kept pushing the feeling aside because I did not want to go alone. I kept telling myself, you have not idea what you are doing, you have only gone through once, you will just be alone and lost! I finally fought those feelings and thoughts and just went. It was a tuesday after classes at 11 in the morning. I entered and just had really heaving feelings in my heart and just felt alone. I had said a prayer that someone or anyone would help me. After a few short minutes, Dorrie Mortensen walked into the room where I was sitted. And I felt for the first time in my life that evidently & truly god answers our prayers. It was when I realized that divine positioning was real, in the fact that dorrie had felt prompted to go to the temple that morning a little earlier than she had planned…. and it took her a good hour to get to the temple and to get all ready and after all of that, God lead her to me, to answer my little desperate prayer.

Ever since that experience happened. It has impacted me so greatly. I have seen God answer the prayers of so many while on my mission. He has answered mine.I i know that God loves us so perfectly.

“No more poignant prayer was ever uttered than that given by the Savior in the Garden of Gethsemane. He withdrew from His Apostles, knelt, and prayed, “Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done.”22 An important element of all of our prayers might well be to follow the pattern of that prayer in Gethsemane: “not my will, but thine, be done.” By this, then, we acknowledge our devotion and submission to the overriding purposes of the Lord in our lives. As He said, “If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you.”23 What a glorious day it will be for each of us when we pray with confidence that “if we ask anything according to his will, he heareth us.”

– elder james e. faust

I love that we can pray during times of rain or sunshine. And we will always feel a little more ready to face the challenges of life because we know the Lord is on our side! that we have paid the price to recieve his help! Prayer has been my lifeline my mission and will continue to be my lifeline throughout my whole life!

Oh the sweet power that prayer has!

my besties

Leave a comment